Arden’s quilt

It’s done! And in time for the show this week too, although we’ll see how big of a disruption Hurricane Sandy is to the workweek. This is definitely the best of the few quilts I’ve made (click here and here for those earlier attempts), both in craftsmanship and aesthetic appeal. I want to make a few more like it.

Untitled

Pattern: my own, inspired by this tutorial. Machine-pieced and hand-quilted
Fabric: cotton scraps, including leftovers from these three dresses, plus yardage for the cream front and purple back
Batting: Heirloom Cotton
Size: 44″ by 55″
Recipient: Arden Pax, my friend’s first baby

Untitled

Not only do I like the idea of cotton batting (vs poly), especially for a baby, but I also like the look of it. The first wash/dry makes it shrink, giving the quilt extra puffiness.

Untitled

This tutorial was extremely helpful when it came time to make and attach the binding. This is the first time I’ve done a proper binding….I sometimes cut corners…so I was very proud that I did the process from start to finish and it turned out.

Untitled

Untitled

15 comments

  1. Pingback: Seven years of quilts | Foxflat's Blog
  2. Pingback: The mini-quilt | Foxflat's Blog
  3. Pingback: Sewing straight lines | Foxflat's Blog
  4. Darlene · September 30, 2013

    Your quilt is lovely. I love the colour choice.

  5. Annie · February 21, 2013

    Arden Pax loves his Katie original….your work is exquisite and very much appreciated. What a beautiful gift that we will treasure for a long time to come. Thank you dear friend.

  6. Pingback: Goodbye two thousand and twelve | Foxflat's Blog
  7. Kim · November 1, 2012

    Katie, your quilts are so stinkin good. Beautiful!

  8. becca · October 29, 2012

    katie, someday in the future when you are super rich and have LOADS of free time, i would like a queen sized version of this quilt. or really any kind of quilt. i want to snuggle up in it with a certain overweight cat i know. it’s beautiful. seriously awesome.

  9. bonniehull · October 29, 2012

    Ditto Lori…Gorgeous. I was really glad to see your hand quilting, purist that I’ve become…it just makes the piece all the more wonderful in my eye. Lucky Arden Pax (nice name too!). Xo. B. PS …another quilt in the works?

  10. Lori · October 29, 2012

    This is gorgeous! Well done.

  11. Janet Schumm · October 29, 2012

    Great quilt! The striped trim is perfect.

  12. Tami · October 29, 2012

    It’s beautiful! Maybe you can teach me to do this someday…and then finish all my quilting projects like you finish the knitting ones. Hahahaha.

    • foxflat · October 29, 2012

      oh you would like that, wouldn’t you tami?!!

  13. Carlin · October 28, 2012

    This is lovely! The design is fantastic, and won’t be outgrown anytime soon.

  14. beth lehman · October 28, 2012

    i adore it!! the range of fabrics, the herringbone piecing and the echo in quilting. it’s a great combination!

Leave a comment