Remake of a vintage dress

After deconstructing my white vintage dress to make a pattern from it, I planned to put it back together before starting anything else.  But I’ve been feeling sad – my best buddy at work took another job – and cutting into this funky green/blue fabric offered some consolation. I sat at my new little sewing nook late into the evening, pinning and seaming. And here it is!

Untitled

Untitled

While deconstructing the dress, I made a mental note of how certain details (i.e. neckline) were put together and I made sure to mark the placement of darts and the zipper. Since the pieces were traced from a dress that fit well, I didn’t have to pause while sewing to try things on and make pattern adjustments, AND I knew I’d like the final fit. So even though ripping every seam out of a piece of clothing seems scary, I’m a believer!

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

15 responses to “Remake of a vintage dress

  1. Seeing vintage dress makes me exciting. I like it.

  2. Pingback: Goodbye two thousand and twelve | Foxflat's Blog

  3. Pingback: Pear, Goat Cheese, & Honey Tart | Foxflat's Blog

  4. Pingback: Arden’s quilt | Foxflat's Blog

  5. Pingback: Sewing in my underwear | Foxflat's Blog

  6. Hey Katie , not a bad dress for 50 cents worth of material.You look very cute in it too!!

  7. The dress looks great. I like the shoes by the way too! Sorry to hear about the work situation but I’m happy to see that you have channeled your energy into being super creative.

  8. Those colors make me happy, too. Really like your dress! And I’m sorry about your best buddy at work leaving. I’m going through that, too and it’s hard. Sewing is a great way to feel better isn’t it!
    Beth

  9. I SO love this dress and the colors!

    Yes deconstructing is a bit nerve racking, but so worth it in the end!

    And you look great in it too. ;)

  10. Katie you are just amazing!!

  11. Oh my goodness that is so cute! You nailed it and the fabric is so perfect.

  12. Sweet!

  13. what a perfect dress! that colour looks great and the fit is fantastic! You definitely need an entire wardrobe of this dress!

  14. Katie, I love this material for this pattern. It looks great on you, and you’ve been so clever to make this out of the take-apart dress. I think you need one in EVERY color!

Leave a Reply

