Cast On: Snowbird cardigan

Late last week my friend and coworker had some crowns put in, a root canal, AND her wisdom teeth removed…all in one fell swoop. Talk about pain meds. I took work off to spend the day with her. I knew I’d be sitting in the waiting room a while and maybe watching tv while she slept. This all led me to one important conclusion—I needed a big new knitting project. And not a stash project. One where I pick out a pattern and go buy the yarn and everything.

Snowbird photo by PiPiBird on ravelry

 

I’ve been wanting to try a simple open cardigan and this post from barefoot rooster pointed me towards the Snowbird cardigan from Heidi Kirrmaier. I picked out a silk/wool blend and bought the pattern off ravelry (username=foxflat). That marks the first time I’ve bought a pattern online – it was really easy. I’ve never knit a raglan-type sweater in the round so I’m looking forward to it. I may shorten it up some – depends how quickly I go through the skeins I bought.

My other big project this week was trying to figure out how to keep the cats out of our roommate’s houseplants. Their litterbox is upstairs and amazingly, they seem to be too lazy to walk up there. Read says it’s because they probably prefer real dirt to litter. Either way…poor plants. We need to fix it. Do any of you have tried and true strategies? This is what we’ve come up with so far: 

Kabob sticks, planted sharp side up

 

more cat traps

 

Hope you had an enjoyable weekend! I’ll leave you with two bits of Oregon-themed happiness.

The first is a link to one of my favorite songs–Loretta Lynn is one classy lady.  Portland Oregon w/ Jack White

The second is a photo from a warm afternoon walk around the Portland Rose Garden yesterday. No roses yet…but all of the fruit trees were in bloom. So pretty.

Portland Rose Garden in March

3 comments

  1. Crafty Kritters · February 28, 2012

    Get another litter box and set it next to the plants, this has worked for me before, PLUS the vet suggests you have a litter box for all the floors of your house.

  2. Laurie Nelesen · September 7, 2010

    Just saw this post….I know it is a bit late but just put river rocks in your planter and then there is no more dirt to dig into. I did it with my house plants and it worked great.

    • foxflat · September 11, 2010

      That is an awesome idea Laurie! It would look much cooler than sticks. I will definitely try this 🙂

Leave a Reply

