Modern updates for a vintage 1940s dress pattern

Butterick 4838 - 1940s

The camera arrived! I haven’t figured out all the bells and whistles, but managed to shoot some photos of the dress I finished on Monday. I started with Butterick 4838 from the 1940s and made some modern edits: shorter hem, lower neckline, and no collar. Plus, because I dislike sewing buttonholes, a back zipper instead of front buttons.

Butterick 4838 from the 1940s
Butterick 4838 from the 1940s

Like a lot of midwesterners I belonged to a 4-H club as a tween. My first 4-H project was called “Joyful Jumper”. It was the early 90’s okay? I promise jumpers were sorta cool. Anyway, I don’t recall it being an entirely joy-filled experience (temperamental sewing machine, stuffy upstairs bedroom, confusing pattern directions) but the one good thing I took away from it was learning how to sew a blind hem. That jumper had crooked seams and wonky armholes, but the hem was beauuuutiful.

I busted out my old 4-H skills and blind hemmed this dress while watching a movie.

Handsewn blind hem

If my hemming is reliable, my zipper installation is not. Sometimes they’re great and sometimes they’re awful. Pardon my boasting, but this was one of my Top 3 Zipper Installations EVer. Here’s my new and improved set of steps:

1. Using the largest machine stitch size, sew garment together as if there’s no zipper. Press seam open.

2. With a seam ripper to (carefully!) open the seam where the zipper will go.

3. Place the zipper behind the seam. Don’t spread the seam open- keep it lying flat. Using a contrasting color of thread, hand-baste both sides in place (this worked better than pinning it, so it’s worth the extra time).

4. Using a zipper foot on your machine, stitch the zipper in place.

Butterick 4838 from the 1940s
Butterick 4838 from the 1940s

My new shoes came too! They’re keepers.

12 comments

  1. Pingback: press release :'Dare alla Luce' at the Museum of Contemporary Craft, Portland | Everything About Web Hosting
  2. Pingback: Butterick 4838 from the 1940s | Summer Life
  3. lsaspacey · November 9, 2012

    I love all of the dresses you’ve made, especially this one! Just a suggestion about the zipper: That is almost the way I install a zipper; however, I keep the zipper seam basted until the end. It makes it easier to sew and keeps everything in its place. I pretty much follow these centered zipper instructions here, but I don’t do the tape part. : )

  4. Pingback: Arden’s quilt | Foxflat's Blog
  5. Pingback: Sewing in my underwear | Foxflat's Blog
  6. Pingback: 14-wedding-dress | Cocktail Dresses Under 50
  7. tami · June 20, 2011

    i love the dress! and the shoes! and you look like a model!

  8. Lori · June 19, 2011

    Wow awesome dress and great hem! I need to learn that skill.

  9. Janet Schumm · June 17, 2011

    Katie, Awesome dress and shoes too. Grandma will be proud !

  10. raanve · June 16, 2011

    Oh, wow, that’s GORGEOUS! I love the fabric.

  11. becca · June 16, 2011

    Awesome dress. You know what else is awesome? The line from you to the gnome to Creeper Teddy.

Leave a Reply

