don’t cry little katie

I had a rough couple of weeks. For a few reasons. But you know what cheered me up? Getting THIS in the mail.

P1030426

From left to right, that’s my brother, me, and our cousin at a family portrait studio, circa 1985. This hung in my grandparents living room, first in the ranch house where my dad grew up and then when that was destroyed by a tornado, in grandma’s smaller house in town.

My parents called a few months ago…they were cleaning out the little house and did I want anything? Yes! The picture of me throwing a fit!

P1030432

My mom said that the photographer was “kind of a goofball” and I guess somewhere in the process I decided that I wasn’t happy. Or maybe I was grumpy from the start and his antics just made it worse. I could not be persuaded or bribed into smiling, so at a certain point mom threw up her hands and said take the picture already.

Have you ruined any family photos? Or like my brother, are you the one being angelic while someone else ruins the shot?

7 comments

  1. Lori · November 13, 2012

    This is awesome! You are all so cute, but your expression is priceless.

    This post brought back a memory of a family portrait from when I was about 4-5. I’ll have to see if I can find it in my mom’s stuff. My older brother (6) was pouting, I was about to cry/had just cried, my younger brother was sucking his fingers & my baby sister was staring at the ceiling. My poor parents.

  2. beth lehman · November 11, 2012

    oh, i love it…!! and i’m so curious about the ages, here! are your siblings twins?

    • foxflat · November 11, 2012

      My brother (left) is about 18 mo. and my cousin (right) is just shy of a year. I am probably a few months past three. I was bald until past my second birthday…there’s still not much hair there haha. My forehead looks ginormous.

  3. barefootrooster · November 11, 2012

    YES. Thanks for sharing this sweet photo! We have photographic evidence of a tantrum I threw during a huge family photo. I bet I was 5. My aunt gave me a copy of it last year at Christmas time — I’ll see if I can find it.

    • foxflat · November 11, 2012

      yeah! I want to see it 🙂

  4. Lisa Caffo · November 10, 2012

    Oh, and was she ever cranky!!

  5. Lisa Caffo · November 10, 2012

    I think it’s adorable the way it is…all natural and all, lol. I don’t remember any pictures but when my younger brother’s were little they were really “furry”. The older one (7) decided they’d shave their arms. One swipe down the tops of his and my other brother’s (5) arms and then they were found! LOL. It was summer and Mom had quite the time getting them ready for church that day.

Leave a Reply

