Baby A’s Quilt

The blue and orange quilt has been mailed off to Cleveland and I got texted a photo of one very cute baby enjoying it.

Double Trouble quilt

This was the second quilt I’ve made using the Double Trouble block, which I’ve already described as the perfect level of wonkiness for me, but it was the first I’ve quilted using thick embroidery floss (specifically DMC 116 8-93 Pearl Cotton Thread Balls, Variegated Cornflower Blue, Size 8). I loved the look of it. For no more than I quilt, I’ll probably stick to this particular pattern/floss combo for a good long while.

Double Trouble quilt Double Trouble quilt

The other combo we’re into is smoked salmon and egg sandwiches on Bricco Panneteria’s olive bread. The bakery opens super early, so we make a point to stop by on our 6:30am visits to Boston’s North End on summer Sunday mornings.

Breakfast Sandwich

One comment

  1. Angela Hickman · August 5, 2016

    That quilt is gorgeous! Just the right amount of wonkiness to balance your lovely and precise quilting. Lucky baby!

    I’ve been mulling over knitting a Fly Away blanked and this quilt block looks like it would translate really well.

Leave a comment