Marathon day

Today is my favorite day in Boston – MARATHON DAY!

I get very emotional watching people run races. Short/long, road/track, elite/average…doesn’t matter. I could stand there and cheer for hours. Races are all about individual performance and yet they feel so collective, especially these past few years in Boston.

The other reason I love Marathon Day is that it’s often a truly spring-filled vacation day. Not the version of spring with gloves and snow-covered forsythia, but the version with green grass, flowering trees, and no jackets.

Because this was just two weeks ago:

IMG_2912
And this was us at mile marker 20 today:
IMG_3089
My efforts to rest my wrists by limiting knitting have been mixed. I did a full one-week break and then tried taking it up again, but for slower and shorter periods of time. Things still hurt, so I should probably cut back more. It’s easier to fill evening hours without knitting though as the nights get warmer and the sunsets later.

 

2 comments

  1. awfully nice · April 19, 2016

    Hey! I don’t know if you remember me (I used to have a blog, Awfully Nice, and before that, Smunch) I forgot that you moved back to the Boston area – I just moved back in the fall too!

    I’m surprised nobody recommended this already for your wrists, but have you tried acupuncture? I’ve been using it for years, initially for jaw pain and a neck injury (and it saved me when I had acute back pain last summer) but I have periodically gone for wrist pain and it has been SO HELPFUL. There are a lot of “community acupuncture” places now that are really affordable, and I actually just went to one in Union Square on Saturday for stiffness in the backs of my wrists – that one is called Open Space Community Acupuncture (I’ve been to four community acupuncture clinics in different cities I’ve lived in and all have been awesome).

    It can’t hurt to try I guess! I also want to teach myself continental for the exact same reason. I might try on a cowl soon.

    • foxflat · April 20, 2016

      Hey – no, I haven’t tried acupuncture, but you make me want to!
      Email me if you’d like to have a knit date sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

