Mini Gale test-knit

Thank you to all who expressed their love on the last post. I have been pretty successful avoiding unprompted crying over the past few weeks, but there are still everyday things that cause tears. Maybe I’ll linger too long on a photo of Sam in the apartment, or we’ll drive past his favorite park and remember all of the walks there.

It’s getting better though.

Last week a regular reader teased, “You had a baby and stopped blogging.” Hey, now, it was a little more than that. I had a baby, moved, moved again, restarted work, and my grandpa and dog died. I stopped posting, but I did not stop making. We’ll just have to endure a backlog of posts, starting with this test-knit of Mini Gale.

I got gauge and chose to knit the 2 year old size, but didn’t like how snugly it fit. This baby is average (8 mo, 50% weight and 90% height) so I wasn’t sure if the pattern ran small or I just prefer a looser sweater. I frogged and reknit the 4 year size. Much better. More like a poncho and then as she grows it will be more like a sweater.

She has a huge head and the 2 year sized turtleneck didn’t fit over it. So when I reknit I bound off for the neck a few rows earlier, then picked up nearly every stitch on the neckline edge. It’s more like a funnelneck now, and slips right over her ginormous noggin.

The yarn is handspun from that gorgeous hank that Christine dyed for me based off a photo of the Oregon coast. I didn’t want there to be much pooling, so I knit with 3 alternating balls at once.

My cousin saw these pics and asked me to make two Mini Gales for her girls and their upcoming family photo session. Red for the baby and black for the toddler. I mailed them on Friday but remembered to snap a picture. Knitting for others always makes me a little nervous, especially knowing these are for a family photo…hope they fit.

FullSizeRender

3 comments

  1. Pingback: More DIY baby wardrobe | Foxflat's Blog
  2. Elena · October 12, 2015

    You’ve got to love the poncho. She’s ready to take on the world!
    Adorable.

  3. CarMar · October 12, 2015

    Oh my goodness, what an adorable kiddo! And that sweater is beautiful, I am totally swooning over the yarn. Incredible how the sweater sums up that photo!

Leave a Reply

