A little more yarn, a little less fiber

Still plugging away at the bags of spinning fiber. I miss the old couch+movie setup that always complimented spinning so well. Have I complained enough about these apartment futons yet? Or the slow and erratic internet?

Obviously I just need to figure out a new entertainment setup. Podcasts, perhaps. My favorite is Judge John Hodgman, and then a coworker clued me into Serial, which I binged through in just a few days of bus travel to/from Mexico City. Any other winners I should try?

The yarn with a colorway inspired by the Oregon coast photo is all finished. So pretty. If we have a girl it’ll make a great baby sweater, so I’m just setting it aside while we wait out this last month.
Untitled

In the meantime I finished a baby kimono sweater in a more unisex colorway.
Untitled

Family visiting for Christmas are scheduled to bring me another stockpile of yarn plus 2 lbs. of Haribo sour grapefruit gummies. Hard to say which I’m more excited about.

6 comments

  1. Elena · December 5, 2014

    Hi Katie,
    serial is my number one at the moment. I also enjoy This American Life and the Moth. I was laughing my head off today driving home listening to one of the stories from this week’s “Moth”.
    Elena.

    • foxflat · December 10, 2014

      I do love a good story, so I’ll have to try the Moth. Do you ever listen to Snap Judgement? It’s also storytelling, but with a little more editing/production is all.

  2. Jen · December 4, 2014

    Knitting Pretty is a podcast I like to listen to. She has a lot of great information and they are about an hour long. I also love listening to audiobooks. Amazon has whispersync which is an extension on the kindle app that allows you to listen and read books and remember where you left off when you switch back and forth, it costs money though but I have seen them as cheap as 3.00, bringing the total book price to 6.00. Newer books are expensive and if you listen to a lot then getting an Audible membership might be worth it. Are you a member of a library in the US? I know my library allows checking out audiobooks online and downloading them. Not sure how feasible this is from Mexico, but might be another option 🙂

    • foxflat · December 4, 2014

      Thanks for the podcast recommendation! I haven’t listened to any knitting or craft themed ones – I’ll hafta try it. The library option is an interesting one…I’ll look into it. I used my Audible free-trial thing when I got here to listen to Jhumpa Lahiri’s the Lowland, which lasted me through painting all of the walls 🙂 It did work really well.

  3. Molly · December 4, 2014

    I’m not great at keeping up with podcasts, but when I do get around to listening to them, I love This American Life and Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me.

    Also, there’s a really great app called Audiobooks that has public domain books you can listen to for free – some of the recordings are great, others so-so (they’re done by volunteers), but I love having audiobooks like Pride and Prejudice, Anne of Green Gables, and Little Women (among others) at my fingertips any time I want them.

  4. Kristina · December 4, 2014

    oh i listen to plenty of podcasts when driving. here are a few: this american life, the moth, death, sex, money, TED talks….
    love, love Serial!!
    i enjoy your posts and pics of Mexico
    kristina

Leave a Reply

