Stonecutters Cardigan

Stonecutters cardigan

LOVE this cardigan. I can’t button it over my big belly, but I think it will fit my non-pregnant self quite well. My parents visited Mexico a couple of weeks ago and my mom modeled for these photos before trying to steal the cardigan. While home in Ohio my Grandma tried to steal it too…so its appeal is at least universal with the women in my family.
Stonecutters cardigan
Stonecutters cardiganI bought two big hanks of undyed 100% merino yarn at Reinbeck years ago because it was soft and extremely affordable ($13.50 for 1322 yards). It sat undyed for a long while until skeinnydipping turned it into a gorgeous green/gray/blue.
Stonecutters cardigan
Here’s the link to its ravelry page
and below are some notes on construction:

Needle, Gauge, and Sizing: The yarn was thinner than that suggested by the pattern, so I used sz. 6 & 4 needles instead of 7 & 5. After checking gauge and doing the math, it looked like I should knit a Large to get something more like a finished Small. However, I noticed that most of the FOs in the photos were on the fitted side. Some users commented on how their FO turned out smaller than expected, and I wanted more of a menswear fit, so I ended up knitting the XL.

Shaping: My (nonpregnant) hips and waist sizes are about the same, so I omitted the waist shaping entirely.

Pockets: I thought the pocket size was a little tiny, especially with my smaller needle size. I wanted something functional, not just decorative, so mine are 28 sts wide (not 19) and 24 rows tall.

Collar: The pattern calls for attaching the front button bands and then knitting the collar. This creates a visible seam if your collar is lying open. I chose to knit the button bands with a provisional cast-on, attach them to the front, and then integrate their cast-on stitches into the picked-up collar stitches. You can see in the photos that this results in an invisible seam…definitely worth the effort I think.

Sleeves: Before knitting your sleeves, run the numbers and compare against your own measurements. Several other knitters have said their sleeves were too snug, and when I did the calculations I could see that they would’ve been too small for me too (I’d say my arms are normal size). For my reworked sleeves:
CO 48 sts
increased 2 sts every 12 rows until 56 total sts
increased 2 sts every 6 rows until 72 total sts
increased 2 sts every 12 rows until 78 total sts
BO 13 each side
decrease each side of every RS row until 33 sts
decrease every row until 13 total sts
BO remaining
Untitled

5 comments

  1. Angela Hickman · November 5, 2014

    Oh, this is so nice! Perfect for cooling evenings, and definitely a must for when you’re back.

    • foxflat · November 5, 2014

      Thank you! Yes I’ve already worn it a lot more than expected here.

  2. Alison Barnett · November 4, 2014

    Lovely cardigan and the stitch pattern and the colour of the yarn complement each other beautifully.

  3. TR · November 3, 2014

    super cute. nice of your mom to model 🙂

    • Katie McFaddin · November 3, 2014

      doesn’t she look so cute in it?

      On Mon, Nov 3, 2014 at 2:59 PM, Foxflat's Blog wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

