“Is that for the baby?”

This is what nice ladies on buses have asked me for the past month. When I responded I was knitting a sweater for myself, not the baby, their eager smiles faded a little. Perhaps in disappointment at a missed opportunity to ooh/ahh over itty bitty baby knits? Or disapproval over the decision to spend pregnancy days knitting for me?

UntitledEhh, well, the sweater is all blocked and seamed now. And I LOVE it. No finished pictures yet, but that’s because my intended photography day was ruined by a horrible morning at Immigration. I’d been warned about Mexican bureaucracy, but this has reached new levels. I was only able to eat ice cream and take a nap. Photos of the finished sweater soon.

I will now make inquisitive Mexican ladies much happier with the next two projects: a baby quilt AND a baby blanket.
P1070598

The quilt is what I started in Boston. I learned about the baby right as I was running out of crafting time to expand on the above, so it seemed like the perfect opportunity to make something small and stroller-sized. I pinned the layers in Ohio and brought it to Mexico, then stalled over the stitch pattern. After an inspiring craft-themed gchat with an old friend some ideas started rolling, and that night I got out of bed in the wee hours to sketch this:

quilt finalIt’s like a fractal mix of radial and concentric. Kind of art deco?

Untitled

The blanket is the Purl Bee Fluffy Brioche blanket, knit up in 10.5 with some chunky light gray cotton/wool that I bought in bulk at a WEBS sale. After the fussy cables and smaller needles of the cardigan, it’s so fun to breeze along on a big chunky knit project.

But lest the Mexican ladies get too excited, when I went online to find the blanket pattern I couldn’t help but notice Purl Bee’s new City Cape pattern. Hmm…very tempting.

6 comments

  1. becca · October 7, 2014

    katieeeeeee – i am obsessed with your quilt and the stitching lines!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! love from oregon!

  2. Entropy Always Wins · October 6, 2014

    such beautiful cables. look forward to seeing the finish. The quilt is pretty fab too.

  3. Angela Hickman · October 4, 2014

    That sweater is stunning! Personally, I applaud you for knitting for yourself while pregnant. There’s lots of time to knit adorable baby things yet.

  4. Sheena · October 3, 2014

    I love that pattern! Is it Joji’s Grandpa Sweater? Whatever it is, it looks pretty cozy!

    • foxflat · October 3, 2014

      No, I linked to it there at the top. It’s Stonecutters by Amy Christoffers…definitely cozy 🙂

      • Sheena · October 3, 2014

        I should have known! I’m a huge fan of hers, and the last three sweaters I’ve made have been from her patterns. Haven’t made a Stonecutter yet, obviously…

Leave a Reply

