Siohban’s first bobbin

Kromski Minstrel spinning wheelIn my last post I introduced my new spinning wheel and asked you all to name her. The suggestions were great – there were references to shape and color as well as just general awesomeness. I did what we did for Edith – called her a few things for a while to see what stuck – and discovered that the wheel’s name is Siohban.

That means Becca – you’re the winner! You know how to get in touch. Let me know what kind of handknit you want and I’ll mail it to Oregon.

Are your pets big photo-bombers too? It seems I can’t photograph yarn or handknits without someone furry walking through the shot (see above) or just plain sitting on the item (see below).

Untitled

Sam is sitting on Surella, the first sweater I’ve made from my own handspun. My coworker of the same name had a great cotton sweater in a style I wanted to copy. She let me take it home for a few weeks and after a lot of measuring, knitting, drawing, frogging, and re-knitting, I got it right. Untitled

It used less than 600 yards of my alpaca/wool handspun. There was enough left over to make a long cowl. I don’t know much of the particulars of spinning, but Christine tells me that I spin in such a way that my yarn is light and fluffy…so even though this yarn required size 11 needles, the sweater itself doesn’t weigh much. But it’s nice and warm.

Untitled

This is the time of year that I loathe as far as wardrobe goes. I’m sick of my winter clothes and refuse to wear them no matter how chilly it is, but it’s too cold to start in with the dresses. So my solution has been bright pants, black flats, and a sweater. How do you dress for this early spring stuff?

Untitled

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Slowing the process | Foxflat's Blog
  2. Cassy · April 16, 2013

    What a gorgeous wheel. I don’t know how to dress right now either. I am sad to start to put away my sweaters, and my brain is not prepared for spring/summer creativeness yet.

  3. April · April 13, 2013

    The first bobin looks lovely! A nice compliment to the green too.

    The sweater really seems to suit you and looks great knit up with handspun. Good luck keeping it away from Sam.

Leave a Reply

