The Minstrel

Here she is – the birthday present – a green Kromski Minstrel. I feel like she needs a name. A nice knit hat in the mail to whomever can think of a good one.
Untitled

Untitled

The wheel came in a big box stuffed full of store ads in another language. Google translate said that it was Slovenian.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

This wheel comes finished or, for $50 less, unfinished. I decided that if I was going to splurge and spend all this money on a new wheel I didn’t want ash or walnut. I wanted a color. Something that grabbed your attention. Looking over the options at Home Depot I picked something called “Green Tea” (inspired by the shirt I was wearing?). It’s brighter than I expected, but that’s partly because I put it on too thick at first. Or I didn’t wipe it off soon enough with the rag. Maybe both. I started sanding the color down where it was thick but liked the look of it so much that I ended up sanding a lot of the edges and rounded bits. The color has kind of a well-worn look.

Untitled

Untitled

Today I put on a few more coats of polyurethane. Tomorrow I may test it out.

14 comments

  1. Fototype · September 14, 2013

    The language is Polish, and I take it your Kromski is made in Poland http://www.kromski.com/start,2.html . You can make a feminine, diminutive out of Kromski and call her, since you already called her a her, Kromka or Kromeczka (cz is like ch in cheese). It sounds cute in Polish, but probably does not carry over to English. 🙂 Either way, happy spinning!

  2. Pingback: Siohban’s first bobbin | Foxflat's Blog
  3. H. · April 12, 2013

    Alan a Dale was Robin Hood’s minstrel (and definitely the first thing which came to mind when I saw the color!)

  4. ali · April 8, 2013

    “tink”

  5. becca · April 8, 2013

    Siobhan – it’s irish, like the green, and unique, like you having a rad spinning wheel in boston.

  6. Anne · April 8, 2013

    Kermit!

  7. Lisa Caffo · April 7, 2013

    That is a real thing of beauty! You’ll have hours of fun with it I’m sure. And I like the green, adds personality. I’d call it Kromski. But then you will have other readers (like the one above) with more wisdom of such things, lol.
    Enjoy and happy birthday 🙂

  8. Erica · April 7, 2013

    For some reason, it reminds me of the sea. I’d name her “Siren”.

  9. linda gaylord · April 7, 2013

    You have painted her the color of green tea,so may I suggest the name gyokuro(a type of Japanese green tea)or its translation “jade dew”? She is beautiful,and she will make beautiful yarn with you,so she needs a beautiful name….

  10. bonniehull · April 7, 2013

    Leto …of the golden spindle…

  11. Verónica · April 7, 2013

    Nice!

  12. blankenmom · April 7, 2013

    Esmeralda, Emmy for short. 😉

  13. gaskellreader · April 7, 2013

    I vote for Aurora

  14. Jack · April 6, 2013

    “The Cyclopes were giant beings with a single, round eye…they were strong, stubborn, and “abrupt of emotion. Brontes (“thunder”), Steropes (“flasher”) and Arges (“brightener”) were the inventive blacksmiths of the Olympian gods. They were skilled metal workers and created Zeus’ thunderbolts.” I think “Arges” would be an appropriate name for a beautiful spinning cycloptic machine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

