Pear, Goat Cheese, & Honey Tart

Another fave coworker has flown the coop 😦 Last time this happened I sewed a dress in sadness. This time we took personal days together and drove all over town so C. could experience her Boston Bucket List. I feel both are good plans, it’s just a matter of whether you want a garment or a cannoli at the end of the day. The Bucket List included (from top to bottom), the lookout at Mt. Auburn Cemetery, Paul Revere in the North End, and Mike’s Pastry for some florentine cannolis. C. has moved to Seattle and made me promise to visit when we go back to Oregon.

Bye BostonFor Thanksgiving we stuck around Boston…our third annual friendsgiving. I whipped up this Pear, Goat Cheese, & Honey Tart. I looked at some things online and then just kind of winged it. Nothing quite so delicious as honey whipped into goat cheese.

Untitled

Untitled

 

Pear, Goat Cheese, & Honey Tart
by Foxflat

8-10 oz. of plain goat cheese
1/2 cup honey (reserve a few tablespoons for drizzling)
4-5 ripe pears
1 piecrust (I used premade but click here for my go-to homemade recipe)
1 tart pan

Preheat the oven to 375F. Press the crust into the tart pan. Cream the goat cheese and the honey until smooth, then spread to the edges of the piecrust in a thin layer. Peel and slice the pears and arrange on top of the honeyed cheese. Start with the outside ring of pears, and then arrange an inner ring. Drizzle the reserved tablespoons of honey on top. Bake until golden brown (30-40 min). Let cool and remove from the tart pan for serving.

Untitled

8 comments

  1. cdv · December 13, 2012

    Was thinking of you and checked this out. Missing you tons and thanks for making my Boston bucket list possible. Now when are you visiting?!?!

  2. Janet Schumm · December 3, 2012

    Katie,You;ll have to make one for the Case Christmas!

    • foxflat · December 3, 2012

      Ooo yeah!

  3. Kim · December 2, 2012

    Yay for friendsgivings! We were thinking of you guys this year. Because of you I now associate bacon wrapped dates with my favorite holiday.

  4. bonniehull · November 30, 2012

    Okay I’m sitting in Grand Central Bakery having a coffee, check my email and find your post, think it looks fab, they sell frozen tart dough, I’m busy, so I buy some and will make this for R’s party…you didn’t pre-bake the crust? XO

    • foxflat · November 30, 2012

      Oh that’s good to know that they sell, specifically, “tart dough”. Nope, I didn’t prebake it, but having done it once I think it could benefit from just a few minutes of pre-baking…maybe like 5

  5. foods for the soul · November 29, 2012

    Boston cannolis are some of the best I’ve ever tasted, and my parents swear by them too. Your tart looks gorgeous; I’d definitely ask for a second helping!

  6. tami · November 29, 2012

    that looks seriously delicious….

Leave a Reply

