Shaker Shrug

UntitledI had to set aside the apple green yarn for a while because the pieces I’d knit weren’t right, but I  wasn’t ready to frog them all. A month or so of not looking at them should do the trick – I’ll be able to rip them right out. The yarn is part silk and no matter how small I go with the needles it wants to be something drapey. I was trying to make something structured. I feel humbled – yarn demands to be listened to!

This other project is working out better so far. On my way to a wedding in Western Mass this fall we stopped at WEBS and in the short time I had to shop I found 7 skeins of Misti Chunky Alpaca on clearance. It’s incredibly soft, which I’ve enhanced with a 2×2 Shaker Rib. My idea is to make a loose shrug, and there should be enough yarn to add sleeves. If it works out I’ll write up the pattern!

Untitled

Untitled

The house is getting chillier. Everyone’s committed to finding a warm spot…Untitled

4 comments

  1. sophieasaur · November 12, 2012

    Wow you got to go to WEBS??? Jealous. Also I love Misti Alpaca. I’ve had one skein of the chunky in a pink colorway forever, and no idea what to do with it. Part of it is the color, and part is that the yarn is so nice, whatever pattern I pick must do it justice!

    • foxflat · November 13, 2012

      I know, I didn’t realize how lucky I was to live in Mass until my friend drove me there! The back clearance warehouse is wonderful.
      It is a good yarn. It’s supposed to stretch a lot so I guess make something that works in variable sizes (cowl??)

  2. dorseyml · November 11, 2012

    hey! I nominated you for a blogger’s award. If you have time here are the details… http://sweatdaily.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/blogger-award/

  3. Pingback: Blogger Award | sweat once a day…

Leave a Reply

