Labor Day

Read proposes his dissertation topic in a month and just started work as the TA for an intro course. He still does all of the dishes, and for that I am eternally thankful, but until late October he isn’t available much on evenings and weekends. So for the coming weeks I’m open to suggestions for: a) new projects, b) trips with friends, and c) really good television.

I’ve already gotten started with (a) and (b). First, a last minute Labor Day trip to Charleston, SC with girlfriends. I’m actually returning to Charleston in a couple weeks for a wedding, but hey, that’s not when Tami could be there and besides, when is two September weekends at the beach a bad thing?

Kiawah Beach, Charleston South Carolina

While in Charleston I finished a pair of gray wool socks that’s haunted Tami for years. She was working on them in Tulum (19 months ago) and then claimed she couldn’t finish without me there to help. Mmhmm, I know…sounded fishy to me too. She is now threatening to start another project, quit, then mail it to me to finish. Just make it something beautiful and exciting Tami.

There are no pictures of the socks. Just one of me knitting them in the front seat on the drive to the airport. I wove in the ends as the sun was setting and raised my arms in victory. Goodbye ghosts-of-unfinished-socks!

When I got back I knit up a little welted toque to send Bethany in exchange for one of her new collages. It’s just 100 stitches around, sz 6 needles, and three six-stitch welts. I hadn’t done welts before – they’re really addicting and I love the look of them. Bethany, if you’re reading, I hope you like ’em too.

Untitled

And then today, while Read alternated between dissertation work and NFL highlights, I listened to a bunch of podcasts in the sewing room and pieced the top for a quilt. It will be for a friend’s baby.

Untitled

I’m really really pleased with how it turned out. I wanted to make something with my scrap stash that was on-purpose-wonky, since lord knows my technical skills nor my perfectionism are capable of turning out “just so” quilts. But I also wanted it to look clean and modern. I was inspired by Six White Horses’ improvisational chevron quilt (check out her blog, she does great work).

I plan to use a dark raspberry color for the back.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

 

I have more projects on the needles already and another dress to sew. But all that will require more entertainment, so if you have suggestions for podcasts, Netflix movies, and/or television series – or you have ideas for a weekend trip – send them my way!

9 comments

  1. Kim · September 12, 2012

    Awesome projects. I love the hat! I totally want one.

  2. Lori Kay · September 12, 2012

    I knit a scarf with welts. It came out great.

    Here’s my list of podcasts that I enjoy:
    The Moth – live storytelling
    Here’s the Thing – Alec Baldwin interviews various influential people (the interview with Billy Joel was a real delight)
    New Yorker Magazine fiction podcast
    Pat Sloan American Patchwork & Quilting radio
    “Wait, wait don’t tell me” from NPR

  3. kara · September 12, 2012

    The quilt is exceptionally beautiful and modern folk-y. I love it. And the hat. And I’m sure the socks are nice too. 🙂

    I recommend Bones. Drew and I just finished the available episodes on Netflix…it took us all summer!

  4. bonniehull · September 10, 2012

    LOVE the quilt…all the white is the “modern” look alright…(now Gwen Marston would say “cut it up” and reassemble…but it’s pretty sweet as is)…xo to you and the student

  5. beth lehman · September 10, 2012

    fabulous hat and quilt!!! you have been busy!! love the chevrons.

  6. becca · September 10, 2012

    Katie, that quilt is AWESOME. i’m ridiculously impressed, as always, by your crafty skills.

  7. barefootrooster · September 10, 2012

    that hat — and that quilt (omg) — are both awesome. and i’ve been curled up on the couch with a stomach bug all weekend with friday night lights to keep me company. i’m so late to this party, but i’d totally recommend it!

    • foxflat · September 10, 2012

      I love Friday Night Lights! I binged on it two summers ago, so it’s about time to rewatch it since I don’t remember plot points past a few months.

  8. smunch · September 10, 2012

    I really like this quilt! Funny that I just posted how grueling my first tiny quilt was, vowing to never sew one again and then I see yours and want to pin it to my queue ::rolling my eyes at myself:: But the wonkiness looks great and probably makes it less painful to sew!

    I am completely ignorant of new shows but I had a really good time watching the entire Twin Peaks series on Netflix a few months ago.

Leave a Reply

