Familiar yarns

After monster knit I needed something portable and quick. Baby knits are good for that. I whipped up this little cardigan in a few days using the shawl leftovers.

Untitled

My friend is due in late September. They’re not finding out the sex of the baby ahead of time. Super surprise. If it’s a girl I think she’ll still dress her in gray and blue because she’s cool like that.

I started the cardigan according to Henry’s Sweater, but after splitting the yoke for the sleeves I just kind of went my own way with it. Gave it 3/4 length cuffless sleeves, a garter stitch hem, and a garter stitch shawl collar. The collar looks good up or down.
Untitled

I crocheted a little button loop for a collar button and then the rest hangs open.

Untitled

12 comments

  1. Pingback: Nice Knit Cardigan photos | Knitting For Beginners
  2. Pingback: Crocheted button loop for knit cardigan | Knitting For Beginners
  3. Pingback: Nice Knit Cardigan photos | Knitting For Beginners
  4. Pingback: Cool Knitted Cardigans images | Knitting For Beginners
  5. Julie · August 22, 2012

    that sweater is beautiful! I love the simplicity of the design.

    • foxflat · August 25, 2012

      Thanks Julie 🙂 you’ve been making some pretty cute baby-wear yourself

  6. Lisa Caffo · August 20, 2012

    It’s adorable!

  7. tami · August 20, 2012

    very cute!! maybe i should commission a few of these? i have too many friends having babies.

    • foxflat · August 20, 2012

      sure, I have plenty of skein-remainders for it

  8. Janet Schumm · August 19, 2012

    I think if your cousins see this they’ll want one for their
    baby and babies.

  9. agujasblog · August 19, 2012

    It’s so pretty and I think you can go boy or girl. Who said girls didn’t like blue?

    • foxflat · August 19, 2012

      I know, right? Kids toys and clothing is so annoyingly gendered. My friend had a girl and said he quickly tired of the piles of pink clothing 🙂

Leave a Reply

