Boston Fireworks

I didn’t get to see the fireworks on the 4th. Major bummer. Because contrary to my sweetie, who hates crowds and therefore stayed at home, I traipsed downtown with a friend and her three little girls two hours early to grab a spot on the Mass Ave bridge. At 8pm it was already packed.

Untitled

It was nice just to sit there and relax. I was still working off a surprise champagne buzz. “Surprise” because I drank just one glass but it was hot on the heels of two Benadryl since I was bitten by the world’s meanest mosquitos at Walden Pond this week and the bites turned my forearm into a big swollen blotch. When the Benadryl package says not to mix with alcohol, apparently they aren’t kidding.

Untitled

The harbor was filled with boats, the Charles was lined with lawn chairs, Jennifer Hudson was singing somewhere on shore….

And then the lightning started.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I got one good shot of it cracking across the sky. OOOH! Yeah okay, this storm was kinda serious. UntitledThere were announcements from the loudspeaker on shore, but nobody could understand what they were saying. Then the cops started evacuating the bridge, and there was a lot of confusion, and my friend’s littlest girl started to cry. We imagined what it would be like to be caught in a downpour with three kids, three bags of stuff, amongst a million pedestrians trying to get on the subway. So we cut our losses and went home. I heard from my coworker that after 45 minutes or so they went on with the show. I think she was trying to make me feel better about missing them when she said that they weren’t that impressive.

 

One comment

  1. Lisa Caffo · July 7, 2012

    Gorgeous pictures!

Leave a Reply

