Test knit of ZIG ZAG cowl

For the first time ever I was a pattern test-knitter! This ZIG ZAG cowl caught my eye so I responded to the designer’s ravelry request for help. Jae wrote up a great pattern and I had so much fun test-knitting it.

Untitled

ZIG ZAG is a long tube knit in the round and then seamed at the end…so it’s delightfully thick, hefty, and squishy. The graphic design is big and bold.

Untitled

Untitled

I agonized for weeks over the yarn choice and ended up pulling the trigger on two short skeins of Madelinetosh Vintage – “ink” and “glazed pecan.” These colors are from nearly opposite sides of the color wheel and pretty high contrast…I’d love to knit this pattern up again in low-contrast colors (gray and seafoam green?)

Madelinetosh Vintage is thinner weight yarn that what the pattern calls for, so my cowl is a little petite. But still plenty cozy.

Untitled

Untitled

 

9 comments

  1. Christina G · September 14, 2012

    Can you share the pattern? I think this is the most beautiful cowl pattern I’ve seen and I’d love to knit it for my niece for Christmas.

    • foxflat · September 15, 2012

      Hi Christina! The link in the first sentence of the post will take you to the pattern page, where you can purchase the pattern. It’s only $3.50! I am going to make a few for Christmas presents too 🙂

  2. bonniehull · June 16, 2012

    I’m with Kim…I totally need one…looks like it wold be cozy and also hide double chin or turkey neck (age-group thing) during photo-ops…:0

    • foxflat · June 16, 2012

      wanna do an art-trade? pick your colors and I’ll make you one!

  3. Lori · June 15, 2012

    This is gorgeous! I love the colors and it looks so very cozy.

    It looks to be just what I need (ehem *need* like i don’t have 20 scarves & cowls already) for next winter. Ohh also this would be good car knitting for an upcoming road trip. Look at me justifying a new project.

    • foxflat · June 16, 2012

      pshhh sounds like you justified that out of the ballpark! It would be great for a car trip because even at its longest it’s not too unwieldy.

  4. introvertedknitter · June 14, 2012

    This is so beautiful! I love the colors and the pattern they go so well together. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Kim · June 14, 2012

    Awesome! I totally want one.

  6. Janet Schumm · June 14, 2012

    Katie , the cowl is so cool , I’m sure the person you tested for was pleased with the results.

Leave a Reply

