My new side hustle

side hustle: work that brings in cash; something other than your main job

The side hustle is a common topic of conversation at my office. Having one is a point of pride. Spin instructor, bartender, weekend retail, selling designer stuff on Ebay…anything to make some money.

I believe that everyone needs a hobby. My office believes that everyone needs a side hustle. This week I found a way to make those one and the same.

I walked past this solid oak four-drawer file cabinet on the curb. Beautiful! I already have one just like it, and Read said that our house really has enough furniture and can I please not put more in it? So I brought it home and posted on Craigslist.

P1020193

P1020197

It came with old file folders and everything.

P1020199

And just like that, a nice woman in a minivan came by yesterday and gave us $250 for the cabinet.

BAM….SIDE HUSTLE!!

The woman said she especially liked this Craigslist picture with Edith:

P1020200

9 comments

  1. quiltinprogress · January 6, 2013

    Congrats on the side hustle. I love the oak filing cabinet, we had bought one brand new to use as a lingerie chest, and it’s perfect for that.

  2. summer picnic · September 7, 2012

    Pets in Craigslist postings get me every time. Love it!

    • foxflat · September 9, 2012

      haha yes the woman who bought it said she DID love the cat photo

  3. Jodi · June 27, 2012

    Holy cow, that thing is gorgeous! I need to look in more alleys, methinks…

  4. Bonnie Hull · June 4, 2012

    guess one needs to live in your neighborhood where you find a LOT of stuff on the curb…less of a side hustle would be possible here…:)

  5. tami · May 29, 2012

    I really like tihs file cabinet–and your side hustle. I think it’s a great idea. you can save money for our next vacation together.

  6. Kim · May 19, 2012

    Awesome.

  7. Janet Schumm · May 19, 2012

    Way to go Katie !

  8. blankenmom · May 18, 2012

    I LOVE this cabinet! The folders make it even better for some reason? 🙂 Why am I not ever able to find these finds?

Leave a Reply

