a birthday present

This week a big box came in the mail – the return address was my friend and former Oregon coworker. She likes rummage sales and thirftstores, and her own garage is full of oddities, tools, and things she can’t bear to throw away. Opening a package from her is always exciting. The box weighed hardly anything…what could it be?

Untitled

Six pillows of soft carded fiber (!!!). I jumped up and down and yelled some happy expletives. The birthday card inside said, “Bid on this at an auction for you – came from “Sunshine”. Miss you much.”

I think “Sunshine” was a sheep, but I’m still learning my fiber. Maybe an alpaca.

Teddy was very intrigued. He walked over and did that knead-bread thing with his paws, all blissed out and purring.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Now I have more than a summer’s worth of spinning lined up. I’m also working on finalizing a couple of new patterns (here’s a little pattern sneak peek):

Untitled

9 comments

  1. Pingback: Birthday present | Foxflat's Blog
  2. lizkearneykramer · May 7, 2012

    Ohhhhhhhhhh! What a fun present! I can’t wait to see what you do with it Kater!

  3. Terrie · May 7, 2012

    Yes Katie it came from Sunshine the alpaca! I can’t wait to see what you do with this. I’ll keep my eye out for more fun treasures.

  4. Julie · May 7, 2012

    What an awesome birthday gift! Teddy looks like he thinks it’s for him, though.

  5. Janet Schumm · May 7, 2012

    What a gift!!Which friend was so thoughtful?

    • foxflat · May 7, 2012

      I know. I need to make her something with it! It was Terrie πŸ˜‰

  6. lauren · May 6, 2012

    Uh, I think I would do the same thing your cat is doing… πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see your patterns!

  7. agujasblog · May 6, 2012

    Now that’s a good friend!

    • foxflat · May 6, 2012

      πŸ™‚ no kidding! sweetest present ever.

Leave a Reply

