19,104th Clapotis Knit Wrap

I usually hold off on blogging a knit gift until it’s been gifted, but since my mother-in-law is a blog reader I thought it might be just as fun to read this and be surprised as see a package in the mail and be surprised. So Sally…here’s your long overdue Christmas present + your not-quite-overdue birthday present!!!

It’s a Clapotis wrap made of laceweight wool in a coral/blue/periwinkle color. The dropped stitch pattern creates these fun see-through channels, and it can be worn as a scarf of a wrap. I hope you like it! I’ll put it in the mail tomorrow.



In the eight years since it’s been published this pattern has been made 19,104 times, which is nearly twice the population of my hometown. That’s crazy! It’s officially the most popular pattern on ravelry. The stitch repeat is simple to memorize, the pattern works well with both solid and variegated yarn (no easy feat), and it’s so breezy and light that it can be worn indoors without overheating.

I like it. I might make a 19,105th for myself!

Among the many projects are some neat innovations, including this clapotis-inspired top…

(c) silvi

…a bunch of contrasting 2-stripe scarves in Noro, like this one from LaNina..

(c) La Nina

…and a host of big cozy XXL wraps…

(c) Brown Berry

 

4 comments

  1. tami · March 26, 2012

    i really like this…in the shirt design too. maybe i will try something.

  2. sally · March 26, 2012

    Katie, this is a most beautiful surprise! Thank you. The colors are perfect, and I am so amazed at the evenness of this dropped stitch. You are so clever! I’ll be eagerly awaiting the mail each day. What a lucky mother-in-law I am. 🙂 Sally

  3. Kim · March 25, 2012

    Nice work Katie!

  4. Lisa Caffo · March 25, 2012

    They’re very pretty, and so much work! At a glance it reminds me of broomstick lace. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

