A simple poncho

We used to host these great outdoor movie nights in Oregon where we projected the movie onto a bedsheet and everyone stretched out on blankets. It was my favorite. The best warm weather activity. In Boston we bemoaned our lack of a backyard for over a year before realizing that we could project the movie in the living room if we turned the couch around. So last night we grilled with friends and enjoyed a double feature – Hugo and Be Kind Rewind…very different stories but both about the magic of movies.

IMG_5880

By the time the credits rolled, I’d finished my poncho! About a month and a half ago I was inspired to make an updated poncho, and I perfectly synched its completion with the weather. Walking to the bus stop this morning I was cozy but not sweaty. Just enough wool to cut the chill.

Pattern: Easy Folded Poncho by Churchmouse
Needles: Size 7
Yarn: more of the frogged yard sale sweater
Mods: Increased the width by 2 inches and the length by 4 inches
Ravelry Link 

What do you do for these kinds of photos? Clearly my go to move is to fiddle with the hem or my hair.

9 comments

  1. dorseyml · August 18, 2012

    omg i love this!

  2. Julie · March 20, 2012

    that poncho is awesome!! I love that you chose a great silhouette and stockinette- it looks chic. Great job!

  3. lauren · March 20, 2012

    I LIKE it! I like your pants too.

  4. Janet Schumm · March 20, 2012

    I love it too!!! It’s a great look for you.

  5. Tami · March 20, 2012

    Like the shoes/poncho combination!

  6. Kim · March 20, 2012

    Katie the poncho looks awesome. Nice work! Also, I love that you watched Be Kind Rewind.

  7. barefootrooster · March 20, 2012

    this poncho looks super fashionable — and it’s absolutely fantastic on you. nice work. (and i love the movie night plan.)

    • foxflat · March 20, 2012

      thanks! Oooh you have a really good place for an outdoor movie night..just need a projector!

  8. elizabethlehman · March 20, 2012

    love, love, love it!!!

Leave a Reply

