“We have a new pet…

…you’ll have to see what it is when you get home from work.”

That’s what Read called to tell me last week. If you want to watch me go nuts, say you have a secret but you have to wait to tell me what it is. Read knows this and thinks it’s hilarious to hold out on me. All the way home I tried deciphering his clue.

In the middle of the living room was a big box, and inside, a kitten!

Just kidding. It was even better – a wedding present note and a roomba. AUGHHHHH!!!! Do you know how much I have wanted a roomba?! The little round vacuum that cleans your floors for you? It’s swept every floor in our house (one of them twice) since the weekend.

Here it is barreling down the hallway towards a cautious but curious cat…

The #1 question everyone asks is, “Does it work?”

Yes, it works beautifully. It cleans up all the pet hair and navigates really well from room to room. Best of all, it can be programmed to clean at a particular time. It will just roll out from its little charger house, vacuum the floors for 30 minutes or so, and return on its own to the charger.

If you want to watch it carefully navigate a complicated shape, here’s a video of someone’s roomba vacuuming the outline of their sleeping dog: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ph_o6qvRZak

 

7 comments

  1. Jodi · June 27, 2012

    I LOVED my Roomba for about a year, as it was a great way to pick up the cat hair. It then died. You have to be really, really good about cleaning it out, or hair gets clogged deep within its inner workings. (P.S. Just discovered your blog via barefootrooster)

    • foxflat · June 28, 2012

      Oh no – dead Roomba?? That is so sad. Thank you for the reminder about how important it is to clean it! I definitely don’t want it to die. thanks for stopping by to say hello!

  2. Michele · March 16, 2012

    I LOVE this! I need this very much, since I spend all my life cleaning up animal hair. Now I am spending the evening watching all the pet-Roomba videos on Youtube. (And to think my initial reaction was disappointment that it wasn’t a kitten!) Hope you had fun with your dad when he was visiting.

    • foxflat · March 16, 2012

      well… a kitten would’ve been pretty cool too. But yeah, this roomba is awesome for tackling the pet hair problem! I love all the videos of cats riding the roombas.

  3. Kim · March 15, 2012

    That is amazing. Between that and your Soda Stream I totally have appliance envy.

  4. tami · March 15, 2012

    hahaha. by the way, i have a surprise for you…..

    • foxflat · March 15, 2012

      i KNEW that would be your response

Leave a Reply

