Week of Projects from L.A. Fashion District – Wed

Animal Print

With this animal print stretch cotton, I hope to recreate my favorite office wardrobe staple – the sheath dress. I live two miles from an Ann Taylor outlet (!) which means I now own about five variations on this theme. But I can always wear another. It’ll be a deal if it works out….the pattern is $10.15 and the fabric was about $4.

And look – it has pockets!

Image

All this sewing is going to require that I set up some kind of sewing station. Usually I just spread everything all over the floor, and then one of us steps on a rogue straightpin, and the cats bat the thread under the couch, and the whole mess just lingers for days. I should break down and buy a desk for the spare bedroom. Then everything will stay in one place, and Read won’t have to say things like:

(c) http://handmaderyangosling.tumblr.com/

3 comments

  1. craftybynight · March 8, 2012

    Love the pattern, the fabric (and Ann Taylor!)… can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. Nancy · March 8, 2012

    After 42 years, I still “hide” the good fabric scissors!

  3. bethany · March 8, 2012

    Hahahahahaha! You have to label those scissors.

Leave a Reply

