Week of Projects from L.A. Fashion District – Mon

Yesterday I posted about my afternoon in L.A.’s Fashion District and the 8 pounds of fabric I smushed into my carry-on suitcase. Putting all the projects into one post would be too much, so I’m making a week of it.

Today – this nice big piece of striped cotton. It’s nice and crisp, perfect for a spring dress like this vintage pattern from 1947. I’m picturing horizontal striping for the gathered skirt, with green at the bottom. Then the bodice will be the light aqua, maybe horizontal or maybe tilted on the diagonal.

As inspiration…

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Sewing in my underwear | Foxflat's Blog
  2. Pingback: Making a pattern from an existing garment: the vintage dress | Foxflat's Blog
  3. dollardressfriday · March 6, 2012

    Wow. I love the bold stripes. I am full of inspiration for my spring clothes.

  4. Michele · March 6, 2012

    I love it! I am so jealous of your fabric adventure – good job!

  5. Lisa Caffo · March 6, 2012

    Oh don’t tilt it! Straight will look fabulous!

    • foxflat · March 6, 2012

      Hahah you sound very sure! ok I will keep it straight and fabulous

Leave a Reply

