Sunday

I pressed that spinning pedal so many times yesterday that my foot cramped. Here are the fruits of that labor: 200 yards of 2-ply black alpaca.

I have to take a break from spinning today for errands and Spanish homework. Hahaha…how weird does it feel to have homework? I enrolled in Spanish 101, which meets four times a week during my lunch hour. Read and I will probably live in a Spanish-speaking country while he researches for his dissertation, and knowing some of the language would help me make friends. I got through high school and college requirements with Latin – never a drop of Spanish – so I’m truly starting at the beginning.

It’s a room full of underclassmen, and I have to get over my fear of looking foolish in front of students who may come to see me in a professional setting. But the upside is that, maybe for the first time in my  life, I enrolled in a graded, credited college course with no related degree or certificate or requirement. Just a desire to learn the subject. It’s a good feeling!

10 comments

  1. Pingback: Ciento Uno Kamis | Foxflat's Blog
  2. Teri · February 1, 2012

    Hi Katie – it’s Teri from AAD. I found your tutorial on Whip-up and was pleasantly surprised to see that it was created by someone I know! Great work!

    I love your knitted creations. So fun. I wish I had the time to knit as much as you, but alas, things are very busy these days with two little ones – Ella is 4 and Everett is 1.

    I recently learned to spin as well, so it was fun to see your spinning entries as well. Beautiful yarns.

    Glad to “run into you!”
    Teri

    • foxflat · February 2, 2012

      Teri!! How cool is this? I’ll subscribe to your blog so I can stay updated on your crafting. The Shalom sweater is really cute, and I can’t believe how big Ella is!

      • Teri · February 2, 2012

        Sounds good! But be forewarned that the blog is brand new and kind of an experiment! But so far, so good!

        I don’t know if you knew that I grew up in the Boston area. Such a fun place to explore!

  3. Janet Schumm · January 23, 2012

    Katie , The yarn looks great and I’m excited for you learning Spanish.

  4. tami · January 23, 2012

    if i can’t talk to you, i can at least read about you. you’re taking spanish!! that’s great. the next time we go to mexico together, you can do all of the talking.

    • foxflat · January 25, 2012

      I’m even more excited about the thought of us going to Mexico again!

  5. Beth · January 22, 2012

    I recently started taking Spanish classes too and love it! It’s been a great excuse to “study” by watching lots of Spanish-language films on netflix… the only problem is I can’t knit while I watch because I need to read the subtitles 🙂

    • foxflat · January 25, 2012

      That is the downside to watching subtitled films…no knitting.

  6. sally · January 22, 2012

    Es muy bonito! Come es tu pie hoy?

    Delighted to hear that you’re learning Spanish, Katie. I had been thinking of getting back into classes myself. Soon you’ll be able to say, “Jajaja” in your online talk!

Leave a Reply

