Breaking Dawn giftset

I have not yet watched or read the Twilight series, although this writeup on npr.org kinda made me want to: “Breaking Dawn is where the Twilight series goes straight-up cuckoopants.” Cuckoopants? What a great word. Sounds like the perfect choice for a heckler movie night with friends. And wine.

If you do have a Twilight fan on your gift list, or you just want a quick-knit present, I recommend a mitten/scarf set inspired by Bella’s movie wardrobe.

This set is first in a short list of commissioned Christmas projects. My friend in Ohio will give these to her mom. I don’t know that friend’s mom is a Twilight fan…we just picked these out because she liked the cables….but I do know her mom is not a foxflat subscriber, so I can safely post.

The yarn is malabrigo worsted, which I chose because ravelry users said it was soft and there weren’t many complaints about pilling. For the first time ever, I bought it directly from another ravelry knitter using the “stash” filter. Have you ever bought yarn this way? A few days after sending my paypal payment, the yarn was at my door. Best thing ever.

Project Details
Mittens: Bella’s Mittens by Subliminal Rabbit
Used: Size 8 dpns & <1 skein of Malabrigo worsted in red mohogany
Mods: started pattern at row 24 for a shorter cuff, added 5 stitches of width after cuff, and added length to both thumb and hand.

Scarf: Bella’s Cable Scarf by Georgina Carr
Used: Size 8 dpns & 2 skeins of Malabrigo worsted in red mohogany
Mods: None.

Ravelry Project Pages: Mittens and Scarf

5 comments

  1. Ashleigh Nicholls · December 17, 2011

    Love it. Thank you Katie

  2. Cassy · November 30, 2011

    Great gift set. I have read the Twilight series, and seen the other movies, and I laughed uproariously over and over with my friends at the ridiculousness of Breaking Dawn anyway. We were shushed several times by a man sitting a few rows ahead of us.

    • foxflat · December 4, 2011

      that is just the kind of fun i was imagining! I love movies like that 🙂

  3. becca · November 28, 2011

    saw the movie – totally cuckoopants (which is also one of my favorite words, and ways to describe students). I had the stomach flu for 6 days recently and was so bored I watched all 3 previous twilights so I figured I had to see the new one….

    • foxflat · November 28, 2011

      yes! Definitely a great word for describing students. That, and “bonkersville”. I wish I could’ve watched the Twilight marathon with you, although 6 days of the flu sounds awful. I have to hear more about your trip to LA too…your picture looked amazing

Leave a Reply

