Scrap/Lap/Nap Mini Blanket

Did I miss any other rhyming describers? Hmm. I’m mentally going through the alphabet (…D,E,F,G…). I think I got ’em all.
This is a mini version of the Missoni Inspired Chevron Blanket.  It’s made mostly from leftover project yarn, although I supplemented with mill ends and a fresh skein or two from some sale bins. After binding off I still had yarn in a few colors, so I gathered every circular needle I had in size 6, 7, or 8 (buying new needles for a reuse project just seemed counterintuitive – the perfection is in the imperfections on this one) and added a 12-row stockinette border.

Even while adding width and length with the border, I wondered about the functionality of a mini blanket. Could an adult fit under it for napping on the couch? Would it turn into an extravagant dog warmer? Does my lap actually need warming?

I joked to a coworker that it could just be a blanket for a hypothetical future baby. She completely ignored the key word there – hypothetical – and got going about what the baby would look like and what would we name it and ohmygosh she’s going to be its stylist and teach it Spanish.

Needless to say, she is my favorite person at work.

 

Turns out the mini blanket is more versatile than I thought. Today I took the blanket to work because they keep cranking up the AC in our building, so much that I was shivering yesterday as I typed. Below, Read kindly demonstrates its usefulness for afternoon couch napping, and our rocking chair demonstrates how dressy she can look in stripes. I’m sure Sam will have a turn or two under the mini blanket too.


4 comments

  1. lauren · September 8, 2011

    I really love those colors. This makes me want to make this blanket too!

  2. bethany · September 8, 2011

    perfect throw katie! they always come in handy. love, b.

  3. Julie · September 8, 2011

    what a gorgeous blanket!! I love the colours you chose, it looks amazing.

  4. barefoot rooster · September 8, 2011

    this is awesome. i might need one. seriously, it looks terrific. and oh-so-versatile!

Leave a Reply

