Scrap Lap Blanket

I’ve been working on a small-ish striped blanket whose stripes are devouring my stash of yarn scraps. In there so far are my first dyed handspun, the cuffs of a frogged sweater, and the remnants from stripey legwarmers. It’s going to be fairly narrow, so I might try knitting or crocheting a border just to add width. All of the yarns are natural fiber and somewhere in the yellow-green-blue-gray family, but they represent a range of lusters.

The devilish thing about scrap-busting projects is that I end up supplementing scraps with new materials. This pretty much defeats the purpose, but at least at project’s end I’m left with a new set of scrap skein colors to stare at. This time it was sale skeins from Webs. THE Webs…the ones that are so badass they own the rights to http://www.yarn.com. Heidelblogknits showed me the ropes a couple weeks ago. I’m the person who heads straight to the back of any store to check out the sale bins, and at Webs, the sale bins fill an entire warehouse. I was in heaven.

This is my inspiration board for scrap-busting projects. Beautiful and/or useful items…no chotchkies. Do you have any to add?


Beekeeper’s Quilt
– Sea Urchin Pin Cushion 
Scrappy Lengthwise Scarf
Ida’s Kitchen
– Mug and French Press Jacket 
– Pathways Blanket

7 comments

  1. lauren · September 1, 2011

    these are some small projects in my favorites:

    knitted bangles http://www.ravelry.com/projects/leftcoastknits/knitted-bracelets

    stripes head wrap http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/stripes-head-wrap

    jar candle cozy http://www.ravelry.com/projects/CampariOrange/jar-candle-cozy—antler-cable

    i’m really into the stash busting too. i think because then i’ll believe i have permission to refill my stash.

    • foxflat · September 5, 2011

      ooo I like that head wrap a lot!

  2. Janet Schumm · August 30, 2011

    Katie, your blanket has one of my favorite color combinations.love it!!

  3. bethany · August 28, 2011

    your blanket is beautiful katie. i love the zigzag. the beekeepers quilt is a great idea too… im definitely checking that out for the long winter months.

  4. blankenmom · August 28, 2011

    (I wasn’t implying yours was ugly… mine IS!)

    • foxflat · August 28, 2011

      hahah ohhh these projects are always some level of ugly! 🙂 A lot more than the ravelry design versions anyway.
      My former blogging partner in crime Bethany makes these great rainbow crochet afghans…in case you ever get another pile of acrylic (but let’s hope you don’t): https://foxflat.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/rainbow-blanket/

  5. blankenmom · August 28, 2011

    I’m glad to know I’m not the only one with a blanket that looks like this!
    I used all the acrylic yarn everyone gave me over the years – a whole box full. I hate acrylic, but I must say that it is making a fine, albeit ugly, blanket that will be great for soccer, the back porch, anywhere that I wouldn’t want a nice blanket to go.

Leave a Reply

