Not so plain & simple?

The differences between Oregon professional dress and Boston professional dress are not subtle. The short of it is that all jeans-based ensembles have been relegated to weekend wear and I had to buy a few pairs of heels. Any new knitwear needs to be styled for the workplace, ‘cuz I definitely don’t need more casual outfits.

Here’s where I need help. How can I dress up my newest sweater, the Plain and Simple Pullover by Veera Välimäki? This is the sweater that I made from frogging, washing, and un-plying miles of triple stranded wool from a garage sale sweater. I finally sewed on those buttons and whaddya know, it’s pretty cute. Thin weight, which is great for our overheated offices, and a long fitted shape. What’s it need to be a step or two above jeans?

Plain & Simple Pullover

Pattern: Plain & Simple Pullover by Veera Välimäki
Yarn: Re-used wool from LLBean fisherman’s sweater
Needles: 3 for sweater and 2.5 for neck/armhole ribbing
Ravelry link

Plain & Simple Pullover
Plain & Simple Pullover
Plain & Simple Pullover

8 comments

  1. lauren · September 1, 2011

    this sweater looks great! i was going to say pencil skirt too, even before i saw the comments. pencil skirt with a skinny belt around your waist.

  2. blankenmom · August 18, 2011

    LOVE that sweater – great job! Other than that – I’m of no help. That would be dressy for me as a SAHM?

    I agree with the already posted however. 🙂

  3. honeysuckleblue · August 17, 2011

    I’m sure I’m of no help here. I wear scrubs to work, and it’s a good thing considering my closet, but I just had to say the sweater looks great on you.

  4. Rebecca · August 16, 2011

    Pinstripe of black trousers, maybe with a blouse with nice sleeve cuffs under it. And then maybe a belt, but it would have been nicer with a belt if it was just a tiny bit longer. But I love it! Need to start one for me too! 😀

  5. Jess · August 16, 2011

    A cute belt could look good with it.

  6. suzy · August 16, 2011

    Oooh, I love this sweater! I say pencil skirt too. If you layered it over a nice fine knit or light weight long-sleeved tee, and then with a pencil skirt and heels. And a bracelet.

  7. Lindsay · August 16, 2011

    i agree, a pencil skirt would go great with that sweater or coordinating trousers.

  8. kara · August 16, 2011

    Pencil skirt!! Or wide leg pinstripe trousers. Maybe even layer it over a white button-down (with collar tucked in)? The sweater is really cute.

Leave a Reply

