Old dog, new tricks

I came home from the grocery yesterday afternoon and Samson was gone. After I checked every hiding spot in the apartment, I started to panic. How does a dog disappear from a 2nd story apartment? He wasn’t with the neighbors, nobody else has a key, he wasn’t in the stairwells…

I keep the window to the balcony open so the cats can sit out there. Did somebody break in? But why would they only take a dog? More panic.

I called the police to report a missing dog, and after hearing about the open window they sent an officer. She came to the same conclusion – didn’t look like a break in. She asked if Sam would jump from the balcony. No way. He’s old and cautious. Plus, if he did I would think he’d be lying at the bottom.

P1000115

But then I talked with the neighbor. While I was out he’d heard yelping, like a hurt animal. When he went outside to investigate he saw a small dog running down the street. So Sam had jumped. But he was running…that seemed good.

I called shelters and animal hospitals. I biked the neighborhood whistling and calling. Sam has a wonderful sense of direction and always returns home from his adventures, but I couldn’t shake the dread that he was hurt somewhere. Read called on Skype from Mexico for what he thought would be pleasant conversation, only to find me crying as I canvassed the neighborhood.

And then, at 1am this morning, there was Sam. Whining at the front door. He seems no worse for the wear. Why on earth would he jump? My only guess is that, knowing how much he hates delivery people, someone came knocking at the door and Sam decided to protect the house at all costs. What am I gonna do with this dog.

****************
Want to read more about Samson?
The story of how he found me
That time I got a letter about his threatening behavior
That time he returned to Hocking Hills
Life without Sam

12 comments

  1. lsaspacey · September 12, 2015

    Something about the picture makes me think it was taken right after he jumped and the cats, being cats, are sitting there looking down at him in judgement. They know full well only cats could do that sort of thing.

  2. Pingback: Why we’re on the Post Office’s watch list | Foxflat's Blog
  3. Pingback: The Genesis of Samson | Foxflat's Blog
  4. Pingback: Samson’s Ohio homecoming | Foxflat's Blog
  5. Pingback: An old dog | Foxflat's Blog
  6. Pingback: Life without Sam | Foxflat's Blog
  7. Pingback: To the airport! « Foxflat's Blog
  8. foxflat · July 12, 2011

    Thanks everybody for your kind words. The window is definitely closed now…cats don’t need to sit out there that badly, at least when we’re not at home. Upon closer inspection I found that Sam’s missing a toenail and has a cut on his cheek. But otherwise he’s good.

    Jess – I DO remember Fafhrd’s adventure and how scary that was. Maybe this window falling/jumping isn’t as strange as rare as I thought, because the upstairs neighbor said something similar happened to her parents’ dog a few years ago.

  9. Jess · July 12, 2011

    Oh, my god. Sam! :/ I am so glad he found his way back & is no worse for wear!

    I don’t know if you remember that day (at McGuffey Ave) that we couldn’t find Fafhrd — we looked EVERYWHERE & put up signs & it was horrible. Then Andy’s lady-friend found him huddled right next to the building. He had jumped/fallen from our bedroom window, onto the patio, and then was too terrified to do anything more than slink around the corner of the building! But he wasn’t hurt, so.

    Give Sam big hugs from me! (And make sure he gives you love from me as well.)

  10. becca · July 11, 2011

    holy crap. i was terrified reading this. i can only imagine how freaked out you were/i would be. sooooo glad to know he’s home.

    on a side note, i love the picture.

  11. Lori · July 11, 2011

    Oh wow. My heart was in my throat reading this! So glad he came home.

  12. bonniehull · July 10, 2011

    Oh thank goodness…what a story. Keep us posted on what you do…cats in? Sam in a crate? Glad the old boy is in one piece…xo

Leave a Reply

