Handspun Legwarmers

Only two weeks until Read comes back. I’m looking forward to it – the Netflix is losing its luster and I can’t eat through our CSA share fast enough and I just all around miss him. Yesterday on Skype, he alleged he found a “baby Samson” at a pet store in Mexico (photo forthcoming). I thought I’d be the only one who’d want to bring him home, but Read does too. Sam would grumble but I think it’d keep him young.

While Edith enjoys a Boston sunset, I watched Friday Night Lights and cast off my latest project. Yayayarn’s cowl got a lot of love when I asked what to do with my newest handspun. I agreed. That pattern is sweet. But when I did a swatch the handspun was too thick, so on to the legwarmers by Jane Richmond! (cowl, i’m comin back for you)

Barefootrooster suggested that 250 yards of handspun might not be enough, so I added in some creamy stripes. The pattern reminds me of those tall striped tube socks my dad wore to church league basketball games in the 80’s (which I’ve seen sold again in American Apparel, more evidence that dads are the original hipsters).

I wanted to cut down on their bulk and make sure that they stayed up, so I worked the first 15 rows and the last 50 rows in 2×2 ribbing with sz 6 needles (instead of 8). I bound off using Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off, which is SO SIMPLE and SO STRETCHY! The legwarmers will double as bootliners…now I just need some knee-length skirts to go with these boots.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: Scrap Lap Blanket « Foxflat's Blog
  2. Julie · June 27, 2011

    Those leg warmers are really awesome!! I love the stripes, and your hand spun looks amazing. Awesome FO!

  3. sally · June 27, 2011

    Ooh, so pretty that I don’t even mind that it’s not a cowl! 😉

  4. barefootrooster · June 27, 2011

    I LOVE THESE. and those boots — can you tell me what kind they are? the cream stripes are perfect, and i love the way your handspun knitted up. Victory all around.

    • foxflat · June 27, 2011

      Aw thanks Amy 🙂 The stripes were all you!

      The boots were a thrift store score – they’re not marked so I’m not sure the make or year. When the heel wore out I took em to my local shoe repair lady and she said they were a “good pair of boots that will last forever if you take care of them.” I felt a new surge of love for them hahaha

Leave a Reply

