the big TWO NINE

Last week was my 29th birthday. My mom and dad like to call first thing in the morning, which is very sweet. Mom always sings the entire happy birthday song to me, then passes the phone to dad so he can ask “so…do you feel older?

“Uhhh..(pause)…I guess so.”

Jonathan and me with our Easter tree, circa 1986

My dad likes to play on people’s apprehensions about the passage of time. As kids he used to ask us in July: “so how does it feel now that summer’s more than half over?” and then chuckle as we panicked about all the fun we had to cram in before school started.

With all of the changes last year brought I definitely felt the year go by. There were some sad parts to adjusting to a new place, but overall the last 365 days were pretty awesome. As for feeling older-in-an-aging-way, Boston traffic has not let me forget that my motion-sickness only seems to worsen the farther I get from childhood, and there are a few suspicious lines on my face that weren’t there several years ago. Also, I feel older when I have to tell people that Sam is 11. It’s hard to believe that he found me almost 7 years, 3 states, and 5 apartments ago.

Well…here’s to twenty-nine and all that last year brought me. And here’s how I celebrated:

new haircut

I got my hair cut (sorry this is a lil blurry, but it shows the back). Not exactly in honor of my birthday, just coincidentally around the same time.

new haircut

I let Carlo at Salon Cu (he is great btw) have full creative freedom. He made it kinda punk in a 29-year-old-way. I like it!

My birthday card from Taiwan

All the little messages of love from family and friends have gotta be the best part of birthdays. This little card came from Taiwan, and its sender writes the greatest notes

IMG_4165

On birthday morning we walked to Sofra cafe down the street (I'm a big fan of morning birthday celebrations)

IMG_4166

We ordered turkish coffee, a sweet rhubarb foccacia, and something called "morning bun" which was lemony and very delicious.

IMG_4170

Read put a piece of "morning bun" on top of the camera, then deemed this "one of top Sam portraits ever". I guess now we know how Sam's food feels

IMG_4176

Mom and dad sent merino/silk roving from Widdershin Woolworks. Just the excuse I needed to dust off the spinning wheel.

And to top it off this morning, a spring start on our balcony garden experiment. More on that later!

5 comments

  1. 2paw · July 5, 2011

    I agree, Sam is particularly handsome!!! He’s a lovely pup!! Glad he enjoyed your birthday too!!

    • foxflat · July 6, 2011

      Thanks 2paw!

  2. foxflat · April 10, 2011

    Thank you Bonnie and Amy! I’ve been very thankful for this little blogging community this past year too! You are both so creative and inspiring 🙂

  3. bonniehull · April 10, 2011

    …looks like just about the perfect birthday to me…hope the year ahead is as amazing as the one just past. love to you today…

  4. barefootrooster · April 10, 2011

    happy birthday! glad 29 is off to a good start. i love morning treats too!

Leave a Reply

