Making Monday morning more manageable…

…with pumpkin cinnamon rolls. BIG ones.

I was setting up a new gmail account using my married name, and in the process was suggested a bunch of blogs for my Reader (thanks Google!). Kitchn (from the same folks as Apartment Therapy) posted a recipe that day for No-Knead Pumpkin Rolls with Brown Sugar Glaze and I just happened to have half a can of pureed pumpkin to use up  (the first half went to pumpkin cookies).

Nifty wedding shower gadget - nutmeg grinder

We got this nutmeg grinder as a wedding shower gift. My mom has this unnatural hatred for all things nutmeg and I'd always omitted it from recipes. I thought I hated nutmeg too. But turns out I don't know the difference, which is good because the grinder is cute and fun.

While the dough raised we watched Season 2 of Castle, which Read has helped me cultivate a love for. It took a few episodes for the dough to rise – longer than I thought – even with the trick where you put the bowl in an unheated oven with a pan of hot water. What finally helped was I turned the oven on 250 just long enough for the interior to heat up (10 min).

Pumpkin cinammon rolls

Wherever there is food prep, there is a Samson

cutting cinammon rolls w/dental floss

Cutting the rolls with a piece of dental floss

dough rises under my favorite dishtowel

Dough rises under my favorite dishtowel...it's so pretty I refuse to use it for normal kitchen functions.

It's official - autumn is here

Sam prepares for bed, while visions of cinammon rolls dance in his head

Excellent, even without glaze

I didn't have confectionery sugar for the glaze. Next time.

 

4 comments

  1. Ashleigh Nicholls · February 28, 2011

    You make it look so easy, I checked the website and there is so much to do I felt over welhemd. lov u

  2. bonniehull · October 28, 2010

    YUM…and the kitchen looks adorable. xxoo

  3. becca · October 27, 2010

    i’d like these cinnamon rolls for my birthday. HOLY CRAP they look good. combination of two of my favorite things. oh, and samson is awesome.

  4. Sally · October 25, 2010

    OMG! I want one….RIGHT NOW! Mmmm!

Leave a Reply

