Deceptively simple baby hat using self-striping yarn

This month our university has been collecting food and monetary donations for the Governor’s Food Drive. My office split into teams and built sculptures out of non-perishables (photos of that tomorrow!).  The department down the hall is hosting a Silent Auction with all proceeds going to a local food bank, and I thought I’d donate some knit goods.

I’ve posted before about my attempts to use up extra sockyarn. In this case, I had about half a skein of some self-striping cotton. This baby hat pattern seemed like a strong contender. The pattern calls for alternating balls of yarn…an unnecessary step thanks to the self-striping, and I like how the subtle lace pattern meant the stripes weren’t completely horizontal. I have enough left over that I’m going to make a matching set of socks.

p.s. Pearls Before Swine is one of my favorite comics

The masculine color scheme & vertical lace makes what I hope is a gender-neutral hat

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Baby hat for Cooper « Foxflat's Blog
  2. foxflat · March 1, 2010

    @Sally – Fabric and craft stores are like the bermuda triangle. The hours can just fly by. 🙂 The hat took probably a couple hours to make. The pattern was very easy to memorize.

    @molivermade – Thanks! Someone bought it at the auction so that made me happy. Many other people cooed over how cute and little it was. haha

  3. Sally Godard · February 27, 2010

    I really like this one, Katie. About how long did it take you to make it? You are inspiring me. I spent 3 hours in a fabric/craft store this week. I can’t decide if that is a good influence or a bad influence…. 🙂

  4. molivermade · February 26, 2010

    it is adorable…for either boy or girl. The colors give it a fresh new look…as opposed to the original hat in baby colors.

Leave a Reply

