Quiz

Q. What do you call sitting in a hot spring in the rainy forest surrounded by naked people, listening to one of them play a didgeridoo?

A. an uncomfortable situation

B. the opening scene of a horror flick

C. a relaxing Saturday afternoon

 

Trick question! The answer is D: a mix of all of the above.

Okay just kidding about the horror flick part. I have to stick up for Oregonians there, because although I’ve witnessed  philosophical rants, strange musical performances, and a whole lotta PDA at the hot springs, I’ve never felt unsafe. Maybe a little grossed out (picture PDA the likes of the “lover” hot tub skit on SNL…only nude), but all in all, everyone is very respectful.

On Saturday morning my friend and her fiance drove out to Cougar Hot Springs and were kind enough to take me along. If we didn’t work 8-to-5 jobs we would’ve gone on a weekday – that’s your best insurance for having the place to yourself. But hey, if there’s gonna be a crowd at least let it be an interesting one. And the didgeridoo player had that covered. On a whim we stopped by a roadside BBQ place on the way back to town. The Wagon Yard was AWESOME. Great prices, cute atmosphere, and one of the best pulled pork sandwiches I’ve ever had. 

In knitting news, I finished my sockyarn mittens and gave them a test drive on the bike commute to work. The best part is that I recently upgraded to a new red rain shell, and the mittens’ stripes look even better next to the red coat. Three cheers for unexpected accessory coordination!

sockyarn mittens...finished!

5 comments

  1. Kim · February 17, 2010

    A didgeridoo!!! I’m shocked you managed to get a photo without any nudity. Also the best BBQ ever? The Wagon Yard sounds awesome.

  2. Sally Godard · February 11, 2010

    Katie, I really love these mittens. I can picture you in your red coat biking to work.

    I look forward to you guiding a tour to these hot springs on a weekday! Let me know!

  3. foxflat · February 9, 2010

    Thanks both of you! I’m a big fan of striping Noro between a solid color now…I think it more accurately captures the magic of Noro. Like those striped scarves where people alternate two different colorways of Noro…have you seen those? AWESOME

  4. Jess A. · February 8, 2010

    Those mittens are GORGEOUS. I am envious!

  5. barefootrooster · February 8, 2010

    hooray for hot springs — and for those mittens! they are awesome.

Leave a Reply

