Color Week from Elsie Marley

Meg at Elsie Marley (check it out – great photos and craft ideas) sent out an invite for a fall-inspired “Color Week.” This is where participants post photos each day of a certain color.  For this upcoming round, Meg has selected her favorite fall colors from a box of Crayola Crayons.

Sore subject, that big box of Crayola Crayons. As a kid I had one goal every August – negotiate for more crayons when back-to school shopping. I would first pause to drool over my coveted prize – that HUGE box of 120. Do you remember that box? It was wonderful. It had every color imaginable…ones like seafoam and cornflower and brick red. That was definitely aiming too high. So I’d then select the box of 48 and explain how it was necessary for the more refined art projects we were sure to have in third grade. My mom would compare the prices, drop the box of 12 in our cart and cheerfully suggest, you can blend them. NOooo another school year filled with fruitless attempts to blend 12 crayons to get flesh tones. WHy WHY??

colourlovers.com

colourlovers.com

What memories does a box of Crayola crayons bring back for you?  In looking for pictures of crayon colors I stumbled across this blog entry from Colour Lovers. The RGB swatches for the box of 120 is awesome, and a good cheat sheet for Elsie Marley’s upcoming color challenge. What is your favorite crayon color? Mine is midnight blue because there was something elusive about it – I could never recreate it by blending my blue and black crayons.

5 comments

  1. stephanie · September 21, 2009

    I always loved opening the lid on the bigger boxes…just thought it was cool. 🙂

    • foxflat · September 23, 2009

      yes! to see all those pristine crayon tips (before they get mangled by the sharpener molivermade!). ahhh.

  2. Bethany · September 21, 2009

    i have to attempt that i haven’t broken into my box of crayons in awhile! but adore my big box of colored pencils … my favorite color is the gray-purple (i’ll have to look up the name). there is a sense of translucency found when put into use on paper. hmm this makes me want to go to the art store!

  3. Carol · September 21, 2009

    I used to covet the large boxes when I was a kid too!! There just seemed to be endless combinations contained in that box!!

    C

  4. molivermade · September 20, 2009

    Remember the sharpener in the box. It ate up crayons faster then you could unwrap the sleeve. My son is taking an anatomy class and he needed colored pencils. I told him to go get a box of twelve. He came home with a box of 100. A kid after my own heart.

Leave a Reply

