Spring sewing

I don’t usually like to entertain complaints about winter weather that is completely expected (i.e. it’s Boston in January, of course it’s snowing), but this year winter was noticeably never-ending. A friend’s wedding in southern California helped get me through that last stretch of sub-freezing horribleness. Ahhhh – palm trees. Short-sleeves. Iced coffee.

P1070564

In between bridesmaid duties I worked in an afternoon at the Fabric District, since my first tour of the place was so successful. I loitered for a while at the bargain place, but sadly, this time around no bin of new closeouts was wheeled out of the back room. I still snagged a nice striped jersey knit for around $3.

P1070587

The great news is that my new boss is big into crafting and owns all the gadgets, including a serger, and she’s going to let me borrow it so I can make a proper maxi skirt (and maybe re-sew the one I made last time because the seams are starting to pull).

The second and final purchase was this stretch cotton blend. What should it be?

P1070589 P1070588

3 responses to “Spring sewing

  1. I enjoy reading your blog, so much talent and energy! I saw this on Facebook today, hope it opens for you! https://www.facebook.com/vogueknittingmag/photos/a.158388505498.159223.91533205498/10152383292845499/?type=1

    • Ha, yes…they’re like live easter eggs. Seems from the comments that this particular one is photo-shopped, but that many farmers really do dye their sheep (sometimes to prevent theft)

  2. Angela Hickman

    Gorgeous finds! I love that second one, especially.

    I too have big sewing plans for spring/summer. First up, I’d like to sew myself a dress for my birthday, which is a little over a month away. I have the fabric, but have done nothing with it (I haven’t even printed the pattern yet). I should probably get on that, actually…

    I can’t wait to see what you sew up!

Leave a Reply

