I will never again question paying $6 for a knitting pattern

…this shit is hard! Writing up a pattern for a hat is one thing, but now I’m wading into sweater-size-grading waters. I’m really interested in teaching myself to do this but I can tell that it’s going to take time. Nevermind that it took months just to get a finished sweater, since I made two complete garments with this yarn and frogged both before coming up with a pattern I liked.

I’m calling the pattern¬†Teddywidder¬†after this breed of rabbit. Because that’s how you feel wearing it. Mmmm. All cozy and warm. The yarn is Misti Alpaca Tonos Chunky, which is a wool/alpaca blend.

Teddywidder - knitting pattern

Teddywidder - knitting pattern

Teddywidder - knitting pattern

 

Assuming I figure out what the heck I’m doing with this pattern-grading stuff (this excel tutorial from Marnie seems promising) I’ll need some test-knitters. I have some volunteers from ravelry already but I haven’t finalized the team yet. It might be a month or so until I’m ready. If you’re interested, especially in knitting a L or XL size, send me a note at foxflat (at) gmail.com

6 responses to “I will never again question paying $6 for a knitting pattern

  1. Pingback: Always learning! | knit the hell out

  2. That’s gorgeous. I don’t balk at paying 6 dollars for knitting patterns because I want them to be correct, I want pattern support if they’re not, and yeah, it takes a lot of time for the designer to create them.

    I’m often surprised by how many people balk at paying for patterns when most of us spend so much money on frivolities and junk.

  3. I’m really behind in blog reading. If you still need an L/XL test knitter I’d love to give it a try. I love this sweater! I’ll send you an email.

  4. Wow, that’s a beautiful sweater! I’d love to be a tester… emailing you now :)

  5. Katie, I know it wasn’t easy getting the final product finished, but it was worth the effort. It’s beautiful, and looks lovely on!!

  6. I love that sweater! Pretty, warm, cozy!

Leave a Reply

