An updated poncho

I’m thinking about knitting a poncho. That word conjures up images of fringed-bobbled-acrylic-crochet monstrosities of the 70’s:

Yipes. There’s like five kinds of horrible happening at once there.

I want to make something simpler, in a nice deep olive green. Or maybe brown. Look at that nice cowl neck on the top one! And the middle one has this nice subtle herringbone stitch thing going on.

1. Easy Folded Poncho 2. Chaleur 3. Spine

Spine looks wild with all those rainbow triangles, but if you did the poncho in dark brown and all the triangle stuff in a solid color one shade lighter, it would be less kooky.

Before I get too excited I need to finish up the three or four things I already have on needles.

16 responses to “An updated poncho

  1. Pingback: A simple poncho | Foxflat's Blog

  2. Pingback: The ghost of the better knitting pattern | Foxflat's Blog

  3. love macrame!! although i am partial to all rainbow items… i think the simple grey poncho is a find. can’t wait to see progress and the final product!

  4. You should see the 70’s poncho I have, and the bright green frog macrame wall hanging that I should give to Sally for her basement decor!

  5. Ooooh. I like the idea of a nice poncho and I really like the second one. Good luck!

  6. I vote for #1, realizing, as I do, that it isn’t a democracy…one of the best things about 2012 is that it isn’t the 70’s…gad. xo

  7. I’ve been thinking about ponchos of late too! I love the ones in your post, and I’m also quite taken with the Milkweed Capelet (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/milkweed-capelet).

  8. HOLY COW!! I’ve just saved both the Easy Folded Poncho and the Chaleur within the last two weeks…. (I look at them both every other couple days!) although I am trying to do something with yarn I already have. Also trying to find something that’s not as expensive as the Eco Cloud…

    Love your blog – just found it through WhipUp…

    • Hi Beth! Thanks for stopping by and saying hello :) I hear what you’re saying about the Eco Cloud…seems I’m always trying to find a cheaper (but not cheap looking) alternative to the suggested yarn. What is your ravelry ID?

  9. Ooh! I like #2! Chaleur. I’m going to favorite it myself right now!

  10. I’m making a poncho too, a very simple one: two rectangle sewn together; there’s a sketch in my blog

  11. Hey, who are you calling kooky? I probably can find one of those 70’s ponchos in the closet (or at least in the dress-up box.) It might be with the macrame plant hanger. :-)

    Love the look of the gray herringbone stitch poncho. Even better than the 70’s!

Leave a Reply

