Herringbone Mittens for a knit-appreciating friend

Our first snowfall of the season is predicted for late this Saturday night. I’d say I finished the herringbone mittens for the snowfall, but in fact I will probably mail them to Rachel C. for her 30th birthday. She’s received a series of Katie knits since 2004. Even in the beginning, when the items were super simple and/or wonky, she was very appreciative (or pretended well enough that I was convinced).

When I was just graduating from “scarf land,” it was encouraging to have friends like Rachel who gladly accepted knit gifts. Who’s been in your knitting fan club from the beginning?

Rachel, I hope these mittens help make up for the weird scrap-yarn hat I sent you that one time in 2007. They’re warm…I tried them out on my walk this morning to get an egg & cheese bagel.


6 responses to “Herringbone Mittens for a knit-appreciating friend

  1. Pingback: 2011 in review | Foxflat's Blog

  2. I love the story behind the mittens. I’m sure Rachel will love them!

    PS: Found your blog via Flickr. So happy I did!
    (re posting with updated info)

    • I’m so glad you did too (and that you said hello) :) I’ll be checking out your blog too…by the name, it sounds like there will be knitting!

  3. The mittens looks awesome! Enjoy the first snow :)

  4. They look great! And Wow! What a great guinea pig *caugh* I mean friend. ;P If only everyone could all have a knit cheer leader – although, it looks like it’s paying off for her now. These really do look great and just in time if she’s out east!

  5. Katie , your finished product looks great !

Leave a Reply

