Protecting My Insta-happiness Sunglasses

My sunglasses would last longer if I didn’t treat them like loose change. Throwing them in a purse, knocking them against my keys…I sat on the last pair in the car and busted a lens. This is why I buy sunglasses at gas stations and garage sales. I’m seemingly incapable of caring for them.

This Saturday I picked out a $10 pair to replace the sat-on ones. They’re amazing. Insta-happiness for the eyes. Everything looks nostalgic and sepia-toned, like a picture from the 70s.┬áHere’s an approximation of what they do to the world…

I want to preserve their honey-colored lenses, so I knit them a little felted bag with a button closure.

P1010228

P1010225

P1010226

The yarn is from an early knitting project – a Noro sweater – that I’ve been frogging section by section. Last year I made my mom some felted Christmas slippers from it that were a big hit. The Noro looked so cool in a 2×2 stripe, so I’ll probably make a couple more pairs for Christmas gifts this year (unless any of you would like to trade or barter for a pair??)

4 responses to “Protecting My Insta-happiness Sunglasses

  1. Oh! Striped Noro Slippers! I think that might be just the thing to do with the noro I obtained but can’t decide on a project.

    Also I like the sunglasses & case. I too am terrible to my sunglasses and can only justify buying cheap ones as a result.

  2. I love those slippers! I feel silly even offering a trade since my skills pale in comparison to your amazing knitting, but I can offer a set of kitschy hand-stitched dish towels…if you are interested. :)

    Here’s an example of my recent work:
    http://karadaily.tumblr.com/post/10582377958/bad-mama

  3. those glasses sound awesome! (i bought my favorite pair at the dollar store … for the same reasons) … those socks are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

