Trading Snow for Sand

That’s right. In about 10 days I’ll be sitting on the beach in Tulum, Mexico with Tami. Plans are in motion. I ordered a new swimsuit. Tami and I picked out a place we want to eat ceviche. And I changed my desktop at work to this image:

(c) th00.deviantart.net/

And, as any knitter must do for an upcoming trip, I lined up a new project. This fall I wrote about Lilia and her lightning quick response to translate a knitting pattern from Finnish to English (seriously, how cool is that?!).

copyright: Pitsikuduja

Neulottu naisen jakku has been on my queue for a while and I finally found the right yarn – Peace Fleece Worsted. It’s a happy, happy green that’ll help get me through the end of winter. I cast on last night, and by Tulum, I should be working on the radial pattern.

shrug 003

Peace Fleece Worsted in shaba

If you’ve been to Tulum, feel free to share tips on where to eat or what to do!

8 responses to “Trading Snow for Sand

  1. I’ve just written a few posts about Tulum, and they might have some info you’d like on restaurants and beach areas. If you have any questions, I’d be happy to answer them! Looks like you’re ready to go and will have a GREAT time!

    lolabees.wordpress.com

  2. Oh, that sweater is GORGEOUS and I love that color!!

    You have totally surpassed me in terms of knitting. I mean… I am eating your knitting dust. I need to find the patience/stamina to finish a sweater project. (Also, I need to get this pair of socks off the needle at last.) Are you on Ravelry? I forget if we’re already buds there. (I’m raanve, of course.)

    • Jess, I wouldn’t be a knitter at all if it weren’t for you!!! I’d still be twisting my purls and stuck in scarf-land. We’re buddies on ravelry…I actually just looked for you on there the other day! we should do a knit-a-long on a sweater project :)

      • I am happy to see my crafty influence has generated such lovely work!

        Haha, I guess I don’t look at Ravelry enough! *-__-*

        I still have this sweater project I started ages ago, but only finished the collar of. I can’t decide if I should take that one & run w/it (finish it!) or use that yarn for a different project. TOUGH CHOICES.

  3. Nancy Kolosseus

    I think we swam at that beach….warmest water ever. Be sure to swim in the cenotes too.

Leave a Reply

